top of page

Baa baaa baby sheep

We've got babies!


Our first babies (born on our property) are having babies.

Because our flock is so small they become quite tame. In that "batch," there is this one ewe, I call her ounooi. She is the leader of the herd, or rather that "batch".

She had her first bubs today.


I feel so proud she is such a great momma.


Before lambing, the udder gets very full and they tend to lie down a lot.


This pic was taken a day or two before she lambed. Look at that pretty udder.


Of course, the ewes know when the cold front is coming in. They choose the coldest, wettest day and decide to lamb then.


This morning I went out to my normal routines. It is freezing today, a lovely 13°C. On the way to the gate, I saw 2 extra bodies... BABIES! WE HAVE BABIES!

I think the whole world heard me shout.


So here they are. Two ewe lambs, pretty, white, and healthy.


I moved mom to a new lambing pen. It is important to keep her pen clean. But it's cold, so very cold and I worry. I will probably do ten thousand night checks tonight.


Stay warm..


Comments


bottom of page