top of page

Bringing the sheep home.

One of my favorite things in the day is to bring my sheep home.


We are fortunate enough to have a 1 hectare piece of land that we use to plant either oats and wheat. This year we had to give the land a break from what we usually plant and planted some lupines.


Because I have 3 groups of sheep I rotate them during the day. Half the day I put one group in and then I change them. The other group are pregnant so I put them in a different camp.


Usually I have to walk through the field and chase them in. This day though my sheep decided to follow me. It is something that happens with the younger sheep that was born here and that I have had a lot of handling time with. This was the original group of ewes that we bought, they are not as tame as the others and tolerate it when we need to work with them but only after putting up one heck of a fight.


I was amazed.. check my vid.




Comments


bottom of page