top of page

Little bitty toesie


If you think life is hard, try being a one and a half year old (technically 1year and 8 months but who's counting).


This teeny-tiny creature is on the explore and goes about it as if he is missing something every time he blinks. Always in a hurry, always running, he reminds me of the white rabbit in Alice in wonderland.


In the cooler evening we went to feed the animals. Ok my husband fed and I instructed. We have an ewe that seems to be getting mastitis so he was busy with her and I went to get the meds. On the way I hear a little man crying thinking aw it's because I am going inside without him.


Get back he is still complaining but walking around fine yet containing to his brother and I make out, "toontjie". Having to help with the ewe and not spotting anything seriously wrong I left him to play with his brothers. When the oldest told me I need to doctor him and have to look at his little black toe, that's only when I had a look.


At this point I am like, wow, well done to my 7-year old for being so observant and caring. At the same time, I feel like the worst most horrible mom on this planet for not paying attention when my baby mentioned his toe hurt. I honestly thought it was a thorn or something.


So the middle toes nail is off, OFF. Such a teeny tiny thing. Gosh, I feel horrible.


He was in a wheel burrow playing when I left him. His dad right there, ok, there as in, in a pen with a sheep close to him.


He must have tried to get out too quickly when I went to get the meds that the thing fell over and hurt him. Poor little man. Needless to say I have been carrying him around most of the time. He can walk and I guess it's not that bad. My poor little munchkin.


It's difficult to grow up, so much to do, so little time and so many hurdles along the way.



Comentários


bottom of page