top of page

Lost another one

Loosing a tooth is a pretty exciting time in a kids life. It's all they talk about. Every day they wiggle it to see how loose it is. Each sentence starts with you must see how loose it is now.. Look, look, with a little grubby face and a wide open mouth close enough to your eyes that you can wiggle the tooth with your lashes. Then they push that loose tooth with their tongue to show you. It's going to fall out soon.


With the last tooth my oldest lost we did not have any of that. We couldn't tease him that we are going to use a plier to pull it out. Nope, none of that.


After coming in from the hot sun checking the water and feed on my sheep, two ecstatic little boys came running to greet me. One's face in shock and awe and the other, red-faced, might have been some tears and was like a horse at the race gate. Could not wait to tell the story.


Mom, mom, you won't believe it. Both started speaking, one was agitated and some of his words faded out as he hastily explained his side of the story. When my middle one is either shocked or excited he tries to talk so fast his words blend like a river and all you hear is the rippling of the waves..


As I could not understand the middle one the older one, seeing his brothers words merge into a monotonous rambling, carried on with the story.


Mom, Sam hit me on my loose tooth, it fell out. When he saw the blood he thought I was DYING.


Immediately I have the image of my middle, very emotionally sensitive child looking at his brother, blood coming out of his mouth after he hit him with a fist. Thinking his brother is going to die now. Poor little thing. How can any 3 year old even think something like that?


I felt so sad for him yet so proud. His first fist fight where he got a tooth out. This better be the only time that happens.


Boys.. Both of them very happy after the fact even though I know there was a lot of screaming and shouting and crying involved.


This is a story that will be told at receptions and big birthdays. Hey, do you remember when you hit out my tooth.


Tooth fairy made her rounds tonight. Tomorrow there will be much excitement.

Oh gosh... Where did I put that tooth.


Happy tooth hunting.






Comments


bottom of page