top of page

Our Farm-ily

When I say FARM what comes to mind?

Big house, lots of hectares of land, plenty of animals.


For us the term FARM is a little smaller, ok a lot smaller. We have 1.82hectares of land with a house, a small flat and a BIG garage.

We have 2 horses, a pig, chickens, ducks, sheep and of course the human animals that live here too.


We acquired our property almost 5 years ago after a lot of dreaming, hoping, praying and working our bums off. We lived here a hole year before we brought our horses over. It is only about 2 years ago that we got the sheep.


It was a big dream of my hubby to farm with sheep. It was never the right time financially and because he runs a business he just never has the time to commit to it. I decided that enough is enough. One has to take the first step to make your dream a reality. So I asked our neighbour if he knows of some sheep available and how I should go about purchasing sheep.


It was perfect timing, we heard of someone down-scaling and was able to purchase pregnant ewes and a ram at a very good price. We planned on doing the intensive sheep farming method where you don't necessarily need a big piece of land. All of this being very new to us the first year and a half went by with us not really doing anything. Our neighbour was kind enough to help us with vaccinations. This year though I decided that we need to get organized or this thing will only cost us money and not make any.


I jumped onto the sheep farming wagon and started to get organized. I did the online mamre intensive sheep farming course and learned SOOO much.

Go check them out:

I also started to follow Sandi Brock Sheepishly me.

Love love love her vlogs and I have learned so much from her.

Go check her out.



So with my condition we have a couple of challenges to overcome. I have recently started on methotrexate which leaves me useless for one day a week. I have chosen to take my tabs on a Tuesday evening so Wednesdays I have declared Duvet-day. Those days I can not do any farming related things or anything really.


Anything that puts strain on my joints, specially when I have inflammation is not a good idea as I then stand the chance to damage those joints. So when we do planning on where and how to work with the sheep hubby has to come up with creative ways to ease the pain and difficulty for me.


Trying yet interesting times. Reinventing farming so that one that has difficulty (I refuse to call it a disability) can do it with ease.

Comments


bottom of page