top of page

They make me worry

New babies make me worry. Especially when they are born in the night.

I worry they drank enough, I worry they are cold, I worry that I get there in the morning and find a dead lamb.


So my new 2 was born around 23:00 last night with a tug and a pull. Mom was in labor for an hour and nothing happened. My dearest hubby is the midwife and we decided it's time to see/feel what's happening.


It was a big lamb. It's a new mom and the baby was big and she, I guess, didn't feel like pushing that thing out. To be honest, I would probably have felt the same way.


So we (by we I mean, hubby) had to pull him out. There was a point where he said he is scared the lamb is going to break. You have to just press (pull) on.


Out he came, he is alive and big. We gave mom a moment to lick and groom him. It's her first time and like with dogs, some moms just need a little help.


We know she has 2 so we had to go get the other one. Mom is tired and doesn't understand this pushing thing.


Pull, pull, and out came a little bitty ewe lamb.


We have 2 bubs, one boy and one girl. Both are healthy and happy.


Mom is doing her job by licking and loving her lambs.


We went in for coffee and allowed them some space. Break over, let's see if they latch. Mom doesn't stand still. It's cold.. It's really cold.


After a while, I decided to hold mom. She is tame with me and doesn't put up a fight. I hold her and put the little ewe on her. The little brother already had his turn and is getting good at this drinking game. When that little ewe lamb latched she chugged and chugged like there is no tomorrow.


Now we can weigh and do our stuff.

Weighed the bubs, boy a whopping 4,8kg, and the girl 3,5kg. Gave them some rotopaste (to help with the gut) and some love.


I ran out at 06:15 this morning to go check on them. Mom was standing and her 2 bubs at her side. What a lovely sight.


This is a happy moment.




Comments


bottom of page